Thinking back…

Standard

I remember when we first started our journey of adoption I had a small group of adopting parents I was friends with. I remember following their blogs and being so jealous of seeing them travel and getting to spend time with their Ukrainian children and our daughter included. It seemed like it was going to be an eternity and mountains of paperwork before we would ever finally get to meet her. I would like to say we waited patiently but I’m far from patient. I did what I do best…..cried….and prayed! As we were sitting with our Mashka today I realized how all of the sleepiness nights, crying, & talking to God has paid off. This story has seemed like we were out to save a little girl but when I think about it is actually the other way around. Going through this whole process has brought us closer to each other but more importantly closer to God. He has taught us many things about ourselves, others, how to be better spouses, parents, friends, & Christians. We got to visit our girl again today and she has opened up so much more. She loves watching her princess movies and playing her princess games. We played with play-doh and taught her how to play jacks. She wasn’t very fond of the jacks. She loves being hugged, snuggled, and holding our hands. We are so in love with this little girl!

2 responses »

  1. oh, that sound so familiar! we’re in the process for almost a year now and only now I start to get know some adoptive parents. and it’s such a blessing! in our case we don’t even know our child/children yet. we just pray to be able to meet them one day. it scares me, but I don’t even cry anymore. I just pray that God will help us in that process.
    I’m so happy for you guys! I couldn’t take my eyes off this amazing picture of yours, holding your precious daughter for the first time. I cried tears of joy!
    it gives me hope, that one day, when God’s willing, a could also hug my dear children – I won’t be childless and they won’t be orphans anymore. one day …
    God bless you guys! keep us posted! love seeing our pictures :)

Leave a Reply

